//
you're reading...
random, Uncategorized

Lakeside

I read for the times that words show me a spark of truth larger than myself. I write for the off-chance that I’ll be able to give someone else that feeling someday.

“Be thankful you’re healthy.”

“Be bitter you’re not going to stay that way.”

“Be glad you’re even alive.”

“Be furious you’re going to die.”

Catch-22

A lot of big, simple thoughts slowed the pace of today.

I abruptly stopped and sat down in the grass during an evening run along Tempe Beach Park. The view to my left seemed important, or meaningful, or maybe just familiar. I didn’t

want to just run past the moment, so I sat down on the grass hill and looked at the darkening, gently-flowing water and the mountains behind them.

all pictures found at http://www.panoramio.com

Familiar, I realized the view was familiar more than anything else. Tempe Town Lake, at that time and place, reminded me strangely of the river near Sichuan University. Or maybe it was the way I felt that was similar. At the time, being the first in my circle of foreign exchange student friends to leave Chengdu, China. Now, probably the last of my closest high school friends to leave AZ. Somehow the feeling is similar; we’re floating on the same current, but at different paces.

all pictures found at http://www.panoramio.com

 

Anyway. The feeling wasn’t nearly as “poetic” or lame as that. Of all the thoughts circling in my head tonight, I had only a pair of one-liners to write down after my night run:

  • It’s okay to be sad, so long as you’re not happy about it.
  • Running uphill sucks, no matter what time you go. And it’s always worth it.

So I’ll trust those lines to sum things up. And one more: Literature’s great and all, but sometimes Youtube is what I need to get me through. Nothing makes me more hopeful for our futures than this video…

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

