//
you're reading...
news & events, personal essay, photography

What’s Necessary

Eventful week.

~Freelance articles

~increasing my weekly volunteer hours

~Working madly on my Peace Corps application

~Participated in my first-ever poetry slam. I lost soundly. But I’ll probably be doing it again before the week’s up.

~Starting a camera-photo-a-day project (for some reason) [first two photos, plus more bullet points, after the jump]

A Tempe 7-11 stands in the distance, near midnight. (5/30/11)

~art & writing collaborations floating around all over the place, possibly culminating in organizing a slam poetry/writer’s workshop night at the new Open Source Project in Tempe (Twitter: @OSPTempe).

My very old bass guitar, and very new drum sampler, both standing idle and upset with me. (5/31/11)

~getting back into music self-practice

~Reading a ton about The (epically-named) Book of Changes

Overall, this summer is less ‘chill’ than I imagined it would be.

This is especially true tonight, when I had some free time in the evening, and used it to watch homemade videos of the Syrian uprisings and crackdown. Made me realize how unimportant the things I’m filling my lazy days with are.

Anyway, things seem to be even worse than most feared or are aware of in Syria. For those who are interested, I think a good place to start is here: http://www.youtube.com/user/DoumaRevolution

Here’s an example:

Some videos are much more graphic than this, but it’s not my place to force anyone to watch them. It’s just a matter of how we choose to fill up our days.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

