//
you're reading...
creative writing

Still writing

Haven’t posted anything up here for several days, but I’m still churning out a poem [almost] every day. A few days ago, I started working on a theme: Word of the Day.

The poems felt too disjointed, and this semester it’s been hard to keep looking around for stuff to trigger that first spark of an idea for a poem. So I’ve been taking the “Word of the Day” that Dictionary.com sends to my Gmail each morning and using that as the title. Then, I let that word’s meaning and sounds kind of inform the rest of the poem.

Is the theme lame? Yes. Is it getting me to write these damn poems? Mostly yes.

I’ll try to catch up on posting the backlog from these past few days. Beginning after the jump.

April 16

Undertone 

The layers of the Sun are not colored

in by the clear, clean notes. You take

.

a cool-burned temperature, Sun, and

turn it into an afternoon.

.

Say a word like “aperture”

without laughing – or taste

.

cream cheese and iced Americana together –

and that is how Your pictureless oxygen music appears.

Discussion

One thought on “Still writing

  1. Like three hours of contemplative profundity. I’m confused, but I like it that way.

    Posted by wisdomintheflesh | April 19, 2011, 10:35

Leave a Reply

